DeWitt Wallace Library

Subject Guide for

Classics

About Doing Research

Help and Guides

Ask Us
Librarians can help you with questions such as choosing a research topic or question, finding background information, searching within Library catalogs and subscription resources, selecting appropriate materials, finding books and articles at Macalester, requesting materials from other libraries, finding statistics, evaluating research resources, citing resources, etc.
RefWorks | More info
Classical Studies: a Guide to the Reference Literature.
This basic guide to reference sources in classical studies, although somewhat dated, includes evaluative annotations for all the sources listed.
Location: MAC Reference PA 91 J4 1996
RefWorks | More info

Academic Research Databases

Disciplinary

Annee Philologique
L'Annee Philologique is the most comprehensive index to scholarly work in Classical Studies.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1959 - 2003 | More info
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) / International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1990 - Present | More info
Gnomon Online
From the Eichstatt Information System for Classical studies, this is a selected bibliography of materials related to the Classics from their CD-ROM.
Location: Free Online Index
RefWorks | More info
NESTOR: Bibliography of Aegean Prehistory and Related Areas
"Nestor" is a bibliography published by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati, covering the years 1957-2003.
Location: Free Online Index
RefWorks | More info
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1940 - Present | More info
TOCS-IN: Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
This is a browsable, searchable database of the tables of contents of about 160 journals dating back to 1962.
Location: Free Online Index
RefWorks | More info

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
This index provides article references for more than 1,100 journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
JSTOR
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Macalester WorldCat
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates vary | More info
Project MUSE
Online archive of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info

Images

Image Resources

ARTstor
Large library of approximately 300,000 digital images of artistic photographs and artwork.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Images for Historians of Art
Fifty-one images of ancient Greek works of sculpture.
Location: MAC Reserves NB 90 .I53 2003 CD-ROM & online
RefWorks | More info

Journal Titles

Journal Titles

Abbreviations for Archaeology and Classics Journals (American Journal of Archaeology)
List of abbreviatoins for journal titles from the American Journal of Archaeology.
RefWorks | More info
Abbreviations for Classics Journals (from L'Annee Philologique)
This resource lists the official standard abbreviations for journals in the field of Classics.
RefWorks | More info
Abbreviations for Classics Journals (from TOCS-IN)
List of standard abbreviations for journals in the field of Classics.
RefWorks | More info
American Journal of Archaeology
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR).
RefWorks | More info
American Journal of Philology
.
Location: Available online (JSTOR and Project Muse).
RefWorks | More info
American Journal of Semitic Languages and Literatures
.
Location: Available online 1895-1941 (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Ancient Civilizations from Scythia to Siberia
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (Academic Search Premier).
RefWorks | More info
Archaeological Reports
.
Location: Available online (JSTOR).
RefWorks | More info
Archaeology
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (Academic Search Premier).
RefWorks | More info
Arethusa
.
Location: Available online (Project Muse).
RefWorks | More info
Arion
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR).
RefWorks | More info
Athens Annals of Archaeology
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library, 4th level, DF10 .A69).
RefWorks | More info
Biblical Archaeology Review
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library).
RefWorks | More info
Britannia
.
Location: Available online (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (Academic Search Premier, Wilson Art Full Text, JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Cambridge Archaeological Journal
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (Cambridge University Press Journals)
RefWorks | More info
Classical Journal, The
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR, and others)
RefWorks | More info
Classical Philology
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Classical Quarterly, The
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR and others)
RefWorks | More info
Classical Review, The
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR and Cambridge University Press Journals)
RefWorks | More info
Classical World, The
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR and Project Muse)
RefWorks | More info
Greece and Rome
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR, Cambridge University Press, others)
RefWorks | More info
Greek, Roman and Byzantine Studies
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (DOAJ)
RefWorks | More info
Harvard Studies in Classical Philology
.
Location: Avaiable online (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Hebraica
.
Location: Available online 1884-1895 (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Helios
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (Expanded Academic ASAP, Literature Resource Center, and Project Muse)
RefWorks | More info
Hesperia
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR Wilson Art Full Text, Project Muse, and Expanded Academic ASAP)
RefWorks | More info
Historia
.
Location: Available online (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Journal of Early Christian Studies
.
Location: Available online (Project Muse)
RefWorks | More info
Journal of Field Archaeology
.
Location: Available online (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Journal of Hellenic Studies
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (Academic Search Premier)
RefWorks | More info
Journal of Near Eastern Studies
.
Location: Available online (JSTOR, Academic Search Premier, and Literature Resource Center)
RefWorks | More info
Journal of Roman Studies
.
Location: Available online (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Phoenix
.
Location: Available in print (MAC Library) and online (JSTOR)
RefWorks | More info
Rheinisches Museum für Philologie
Online archive of issues, starting with vol.
Location: Available online
RefWorks | More info

Other Resources

Web Sites

Ancient World Mapping Center
A project at the University of North Carolina, the AWMC "exists to promote cartography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies." .
RefWorks | More info
Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
This web site includes a database of images and documentation of ancient art and architecture known to the peoples of the Renaissance.
RefWorks | More info
Classical and Medieval History
Developed by the Library of Congress, this lists web resources for Classics and Medieval history.
Location: Free Online
RefWorks | More info
Classical Myth: The Ancient Sources
A source for images and texts about mythological characters.
RefWorks | More info
Diotima: Women & Gender in the Ancient World
This site contains materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
RefWorks | More info
Electronic Resources for Classicists
A comprehensive list of electronic resources, maintained at the University of California, Irvine.
Location: Online
RefWorks | More info
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
This site organizes links to online texts that are available on the Web.
RefWorks | More info
Internet Classics Archive
A searchable archive of classical literature translated into English.
RefWorks | More info
Kirke
This is a German database that collects resources in the areas of ancient inscriptions, papyrology, manuscripts and codices, textual criticism, and paleography.
RefWorks | More info
Searchable Greek Inscriptions (Packard Humanities Institute)
This site, which is maintained by Cornell University and the Ohio State University, is a database of ancient Greek inscriptions in the major published corpora.
RefWorks | More info
Voice of the Shuttle: Classical Studies
Part of a larger Web site (Voice of the Shuttle: Web Page for Humanities Research), this is a classified listing of links to resources on the Web.
RefWorks | More info
VROMA: A Virtual Community for Teaching and Learning Classics
VROMA is a site developed by teachers and scholars to create a virtual learning environment for classicists.
RefWorks | More info

Primary Source Materials

Primary Sources

Perseus Digital Library
Digital library of source materials for the study of the ancient world and beyond.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info

Reference Resources

Dictionaries

Dictionary of the Roman Empire
.
Location: MAC Reference DG270. B86 1995
RefWorks | More info
Greek-English Lexicon, A
This dictionary includes references to ancient texts, and a listing of the standard abbreviations for the titles of ancient texts.
Location: MAC Reference PA445.E5 L6 1996
RefWorks | More info
Harper's Dictionary of Classical Literature and Antiquities
A comprehensive dictionary of terms relating to the Classical world.
Location: MAC Reference DE5 .P36 1965
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Extensive dictionary of terms, places, people, ideas, and concepts dealing with the ancient world.
Location: 3rd edition (2005) available online through Oxford Reference. 4th edition (2012) available in print at: MAC Reference DE5 .O9 2012
RefWorks | Coverage: 2005 & 2012 | More info
Oxford Latin Dictionary
This includes references to ancient texts, and a list of the standard abbreviations for titles of ancient texts.
Location: MAC Reference PA2365.E5 O9 (2 vols.)
RefWorks | More info

Encyclopedias

Ancient Greek Authors
Alphabetical listing of ancient Greek writers.
Location: Available online through the Dictionary of Literary Biography
RefWorks | More info
Ancient Roman Writers
Alphabetical listing of ancient Roman writers.
Location: Available online through the Dictionary of Literary Biography
RefWorks | More info
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity
This is a comprehensive, scholarly encyclopedia of the ancient and Classical worlds, including a survey of the scholarship.
Location: Online and Print: MAC Reference DE5 .N4813 (14 vols.)
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2007 | More info
Encyclopedia of Ancient History
From description: "over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE.
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2012 | More info
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Presents biographies and thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf and MAC Reference N5610 .G76 2007 (2 vols.)
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2007 | More info
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
"The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects.
Location: Available online through Oxford Reference Online
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf and MAC Reference DT 58 .O94 2001 (3 vols.)
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2001 | More info
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world, Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman, from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2010 | More info
Oxford Reference Online
Resource of reference materials including about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info

General Reference

Cambridge Ancient History
This set contains 14 volumes covering Prehistory through AD 600, with a focus on the Classical World.
Location: Available online through Cambridge Histories Online (14 vols.)
RefWorks | More info
Cambridge History of Classical Literature
Lengthy, scholarly essays on literature in the Classical world.
Location: Available online in Cambridge Histories Online (2 vols.)
RefWorks | More info
Cambridge History of Hellenistic Philosophy
"A full account of the philosophy of the Greek and Roman worlds from the last days of Aristotle (c.
Location: Available online through Cambridge Histories Online
RefWorks | More info
Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names
Brief entries on place-names in the ancient world.
Location: Online through Credo Reference; print: MAC Reference DE25 G72 1986
RefWorks | More info
Who's Who in Classical Mythology
"Who's Who in Classical Mythology is the most complete and detailed reference book of its kind.
Location: Available online through Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Who's Who in the Classical World
"Focusing exclusively on real people, this is a dictionary of ancient biography, covering Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art.
Location: Available online through Oxford Reference Online
RefWorks | More info
Have a Question?
Please feel free to contact me:
Ginny Heinrich Alexis Logsdon